tala's blog

notes behind some art spreads i did

I have been producing a myriad of sketches in my Moleskine to practice my dip pen skills - referencing real life, random Pinterest photos, or the masters. I thought of sharing some scanned pages with you and leave some notes behind the inspiration of these pages.

camera pages This page was an homage to the vintage camera I acquired recently, whose owner purchased over 15 years ago! I also had the option to acquire the Konica (on the left), but I preferred the Fujifilm. I sketched these from real life.

angels These are mastercopies I adapted from Sebastiano Ricci's sketches - an artist I absolutely admire. My goal with this spread was to capture the fluidity of his work, as I have been trying to maintain a similar looseness in my art, too.

flowers and adaptations This is quite a fragmented page, but it is precisely what I enjoyed about it. I adapted the left from Sargent's work and inked out a flower. Added a note & an excerpt from my favorite poem.

museums This page was heavily experimental. I was testing different approaches to my dip pen, but I still greatly enjoyed the process. Used online references (I love sketching people in museums for some reason).