tala's blog

of art portfolios, haikus, and writing

These days, I am busy building my art portfolio. I have been seeking inspiration all over Pinterest, Tumblr, and portfolios of other artists & photographers. Last month, I tested out a very simple art portfolio on Bearblog, and absolutely loved the idea of curating a space particularly for my artwork.

The process of creating mood boards and drafting web designs has been pure euphoria (I am building mine using universe, and I am fervent for the final result.

On a random note, I have been into haikus lately. I was first exposed to this poetic form back in 10th grade, when we were assigned an annotation of "The Old Pond" by Matsuo Basho, which, if I recall correctly, is the most renowned haiku across Japan. My favorite haiku lately is “A Poppy Blooms” by Katsushika Hokusai:

I write, erase, rewrite

Erase again, and then

A poppy blooms.

I think it is an exquisite depiction of the writing process, where Hokusai compares a final piece of writing to a poppy that has finally bloomed.

Also, I am finally back to writing regularly! Despite being on vacation, I am still trying to squeeze an hour-long writing session daily, which makes me feel exponentially better than when I am not writing. If there is one thing I am grateful for in my life, it is the ability to write.

This has been a random update about my whereabouts and interests. So, if you have made it this far, thank you.