tala's blog

small but certain happiness - vintage camera!

Recently, I have garnered a strange fascination with cameras, particularly those with a vintage, grainy feel to their lens. I've been on a hunt for an old vintage camera, in antique marketplaces and local online stores. I thought I would experiment with something relatively affordable, belonging to a previous owner, test the waters, then upgrade to another camera.

After futile searches, I finally obtained a vintage camera of a Fujifilm Z200fd model, whose previous owner purchased almost 15 years ago. I have been carrying it with me all the time, crossbody in a small, black pouch. In a way, the act makes me feel like a real photographer.

IMG_9912

There is something indubitably alluring about the tangible nature of film photography that our contemporary phones simply cannot capture. I was thinking about this today - where did my interest abruptly surge from? I realized I was seeking change from the clinically ideal picture of the modern phone, the high resolution perfection.

Maybe this is a hobby I am merely dabbling with, but I think film photography is a medium that invites a slower, more intentional approach, offering me an emotional connection through their grainy lens and lower resolution pictures.

My camera has also given me motivation to leave the house. My depression makes me spend too much time inside, makes my days blur into one, that sometimes I can't identify one day from another. This week, I decided I would spend more time outside to capture the beauty of this world through my Fujifilm. I look forward to sharing some pictures in the future, along with my notes and observations from my adventures with you.